A New List: Glad I’m Not Their PR Guy!

May 11, 2010 at 11:36 pm

I think I’m going to start a new list. It’s the I’m Glad I’m Not Their P.R. Guy list. Naturally, this week, that designation goes to BP. I’m glad I don’t have to explain the fouling of the Gulf of Mexico.

Although the act may have been terrible, I have to give BP credit for the crisis communications job they’re doing. They’ve been on top of the situation, they’ve been concerned and they’ve been accessible. From what I understand, they’re in the towns on the Gulf Coast with people and money. You can see the hands of the Legal Department at times, but I have to say that, to me, they’re doing a good job handling something much bigger than they ever could have anticipated. I’m sure many of my colleagues will pick the job apart, but the “Glad I’m Not Their PR Guy” list makes me look at these challenges as if they were mine, not as a distant critic who isn’t living the crisis.

BP’s problem also has proven something else I’ve learned handling crisis  communications: The best tactic for managing the media relations aspect of the crisis is to have a bigger crisis come along. Example? As much as the legal and public relations teams from Toyota would probably love to take credit for putting the damper on Toyota’s bad publicity, that credit really belongs to BP. And I’m sure the media relations folks at BP are secretly hoping for another volcanic cloud from Iceland or some story bigger than than their oil blowout.

So…who would you like to put on this list?

Entry filed under: crisis communications, Media Relations, The "I'm Glad I'm Not Their PR Guy" List. Tags: , , , , , .

Fire in Flanders I think I’ll just headlinize right here


Categories

Dougtheprguy

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


