Study says blogging not as popular. Oh well.

February 4, 2010 at 12:54 pm

First, we were told that if we don’t blog, the world will pass us by. So I learned to blog. Now, I’ve read an article that says that people between 12 and 29 years old don’t like long-form blogging because (a) they don’t like to read and (b) they prefer Facebook and Twitter.

Communications gets more and more interesting, but I kinda wonder what it says about our future leaders that they don’t like to read. Oh well: My parents figured I’d ruin the world because I listened to rock-and-roll, didn’t cut my hair and didn’t focus on my studies.

As a public relations counselor and a communicator, it presents a challenge, but nothing insurmountable and nothing to get alarmed about. It’s just another day on this rapid express we live in. Newspapers, we’re told,  are losing their purpose. Now blogging is losing its purpose. Twitter has purpose, but mostly because experts keep telling us it does. And Facebook is the king (queen?) of communicating. This week. 

Seems to me that all this comes back to the basics of communications: What do you want to say, who do you want to say it to and what’s the best way to say it?  If I primarily wanted to talk with very young people, I’d use all of the media that they might read, and focus on Facebook and, maybe, YouTube. I don’t. I want to talk to people who are a little older and want to buy a home and I want to talk with reporters and opinion leaders. Seems to me Facebook and Twitter have a role in that, but so does a blog. And, by the way, so does the local daily newspaper those people read and, antiquated though it  may seem, so do magazines and maybe even post cards.

There are so many ways to communicate these days, that it feels like every communications effort requires a multiple choice pick list.  Chatting now requires a drop-down menu. If I want to talk about the movie I saw Tuesday night (I did that on Twitter and got lots of responses), I can choose one group of media that friends (real friends) will see. If want to talk about some  aspect of business, like how impressed I was with the homes at Four Seasons at Harbor Bay, same pick-list, different choices.

The challenge is knowing your audience well enough to know what to pick and then how to communicate through those media. That hasn’t changed and it never will.

Entry filed under: Dealing with social media, Media Relations, Public Relations Adventures at K. Hovnanian. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

So just how does the old dog learn new tricks? 3:1 Post–Dead cats, ambulances and college students


Categories

Dougtheprguy

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


