AntiSocial Media

January 7, 2010 at 6:42 pm 3 comments

Interesting conversation with my bosses today. They are perplexed because competitors are coming  up higher in organic search engine results than we are. And I’m supposed to be able to magically fix that.

We talked about optimization, the number of items we’re putting on the Web and other factors.  I, for one, am still trying to figure out the best way to get my news releases and other items to the best writers, be they reporters, bloggers or whatever, as well as picked up by search engines. It’s so frustrating.

I’m trying PitchEngine. Check this out: http://pitch.pe/40400  Let me know what you think. And, no, they didn’t pay me to say this. They didn’t even return my phone calls and there’s very little in the way of help on the site, although it’s pretty straightforward. So, we’ll see about this… Not an answer, but maybe a stepping stone.

Without violating state secrets, how are you dealing with the realities of SEO releases?

The biggest problem, of course, is budgets and resources. I have no agency working for me and can’t afford to keep using wire services to distribute. I’ve read lots of articles and attended lots of seminars, but this is reality. Anybody have any ideas? Let’s share them!

Entry filed under: Dealing with social media, Optimized News Releases, Public Relatons Adventures at K Hovnanian. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

I’m back: Toyota demonstrates value of a good reputation Legislative Affairs On My Own

3 Comments

  • 1. Krista  |  January 7, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    Why use an large agency? Why don’t you get a smaller company SEO optimizer to chat with you about how to get the results your looking for? Pay them for the consultation or set up a couple months of service to determine if they get the results you want. I use and recommend tracemedia.com- ask for Chris Dawkins. Best of luck.

    • 2. dougtheprguy  |  January 8, 2010 at 12:00 am

      I agree with you about smaller agencies. I’ve learned to be suspicious of large agencies. I’ll give Chris a call! Thanks What does he do for you and how has it helped?

      • 3. Krista  |  January 8, 2010 at 2:44 pm

        Chris has worked on our website. I work in a law firm in Southern California. Within the firm I’ve taken on trying to grow our internet presence. We plan to engage Chris this year to assist us in more SEO work since we’ve seen good results. Our clients have mentioned liking the new website better and existing and prospective clients have commented on how we “came up” in searches.

        I referred Chris to my optometrist Dr. Lenhardt and he’s had similar results and been pleased.


Categories

Dougtheprguy

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


