A Placement I’m Proud Of

October 17, 2009 at 10:20 am

Earned this placement in the Pittsburgh Post Gazette: http://bit.ly/37DrD8

Yeah, I know: Placements are supposed to be old hat. And there’s nothing all that crazy about this one. But we pitched in June after some debate about ad bucks and the value of those expenditures. The PG doesn’t do advertorials. I suggested, however, that a well-placed article would bring as good or better return than an ad. Well, we’ll see about the return, but the article looks good.

The PG hadn’t covered this topic before and we covered all the basics in our preparation and pitch. It’s PR-101, really, but guess what: I like it!

Thanks to editor Kevin and reporter Janice for a good job and to colleague Greg for helping me keep my facts right and staying on message during the interview.

As for me, once again, I’m re-teaching the value of good relationships with the media and a good public relations program. I often wonder when we get to stop teaching that to our internal clients, but I guess the answer is never, especially during times of budget cuts and staff changes. Perhaps this is a lesson they’ll more readily appreciate than discussions of ethics and reputation.  It’s harder to make them understand that these stories don’t happen unless I, as the representative, and my company as my client have a good reputation and do business ethically.

Entry filed under: Public Relatons Adventures at K Hovnanian. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

The APR Debate Rages: I Say Go For It! Working Fire in Flanders


Categories

Dougtheprguy

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


