The Ethical Optimist Gets It Right..

September 29, 2009 at 11:53 pm 5 comments

Ann writes The Ethical Optimist at www.ethicaloptimist.com.

Ann writes The Ethical Optimist at http://www.ethicaloptimist.com.

I’ve been reading lots of bloggers’ comments on the appearance at the United Nations by some of the more, shall we say, colorful and enigmantic world leaders.  I thought about adding to the cacaphony when I saw what Ann Subervi wrote in her blog,  The Ethical Optimist (www.ethicaloptimist.com). She not only caught the right tone of those leaders’ comments, but made it personal in a way that made me chuckle and think.

Here’s her post:

MOE, LARRY & CURLY VISIT THE U.N.

Posted 23 Sep 2009

I wonder if the PR guys for el-Qaddafi, Ahmadinejad and Chavez cringe when they come off the podium and ask the inevitable question, “So, how did I do?” Do you think Qaddafi’s guy turned to him today and said, “Gee sir, I thought you rambled a bit and you were over your 2o minute allotment by about…oh, an hour and change.”

Talk about an ethical dilemma. Tell the truth or go home and get thrown in prison…or possibly executed. Hmmmm….

Puts a whole new light on doing business in the good ole USA, that’s for sure. I couldn’t help but wonder after watching the evening news what it must be like to work for a complete lunatic. Do these guys buy in I wonder? Or do they ocassionally question their glorious leader.

That then led me to think, do the PR teams for Rush Limbaugh and Glenn Beck swig down the Kool-Aid before coming to work or do they ocassionally sit at their desks shaking their heads and thinking…”I work for a kook!” It begs the question, as PR professionals, do we need to question our leaders and say, “Why I oughta….”

Entry filed under: stuff & rants. Tags: , , , , .

Kevork Hovnanian – A Public Relations Hero Social media: Silo-buster or billing opportunity?

5 Comments

  • 1. Ethan Fenichel  |  September 30, 2009 at 9:35 pm

    First of all, doesn’t one usually link to another blog, not repost the text? It’s the internet – let it be inter 🙂

    Secondly, I have to think that those PR guys must be pretty good. Isn’t it a matter of achieving goals more so than following some sort of ethical guide? Ethics are relative (another debate?) and as American’s it doesn’t seem right to put other people into our ethical framework. Now, I’m not saying we give a free pass to guys like Qaddafi, Ahmadinejad and Chavez, but perhaps we do give one to their PR guys. Each despot is popular enough to stay in power in their country – meaning at least with the right people. If that is their goal, then their PR guys are keeping them in work. Now, imagine they used those skills for good!

    • 2. dougtheprguy  |  September 30, 2009 at 11:11 pm

      Good point about links. You can find The Ethical Optimist at http://www.ethicaloptimist.com. Next time, I’ll just post the link, although I thought what Ann wrote was worth repeating.

      Interesting to try to picture the Three, um, Leaders as being ethical. The problem that brought the column home for me is that we’ve all had clients who form positions and opinions through their own prism. Our job, as PR guys and gals, is to gently (where possible) suggest that perhaps their opinion needs to either be more solidly supported by facts or more in tune with community morals. That can be an interesting discussion. Imagine having it with someone who just killed a bunch of people because they didn’t agree with his political stance…

  • 3. Tnelson  |  October 1, 2009 at 12:50 am

    Hey, great blog…but I don’t understand how to add your site in my rss reader. Can you Help me, please 🙂

    • 4. dougtheprguy  |  October 11, 2009 at 11:28 pm

      No. Not because I don’t want to, but because I’m trying to figure this out myself! Say with me…we will!

    • 5. dougtheprguy  |  October 12, 2009 at 8:58 am

      I think I got it set up now! give it a try and let me now if it works right.


Categories

Dougtheprguy

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


